IIHF Men’s World Championship 2021: Time, TV channel, live stream, where, when, schedule

It’s that uncommon season, when Stanley Cup season finisher activity is warming up and the hockey world can likewise watch their nations go for gold.

After the 2020 competition was dropped due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the IIHF Men’s World Championship is back in 2021. Sixteen groups will contend in the 17-day competition set to occur in Latvia.

Ordinarily a route for NHLers who don’t make the postseason to keep carrying out their specialty, the 2021 competition is jam-loaded with young people meaning to demonstrate their NHL worth, including various possibilities set to be drafted in July. Among the gathering of first-round hopefuls are the United States’ Matty Beniers (who won gold at the 2021 youngsters) and Canada’s Owen Power. There are additionally ongoing top draft picks like Canada’s Cole Perfetti (Jets) and Braden Schneider (Rangers).

USA Hockey is focusing on its third gold award (1933 and 1960) while Hockey Canada is going for gold decoration No. 26 and its first since 2016. On the off chance that Canada catches the gold, it will tie Russia/the Soviet Union for the most in competition history.

Here’s beginning and end to think about the 2021 world ice hockey title, remembering how to watch games for TV and stream on the web, in addition to the full timetable, scores and standings.

When is the 2021 Men’s World Championship?
  • Dates: May 21 to June 6

Sixteen groups separated into two gatherings will contend in the starter round. Each group will play the other seven groups in their gathering throughout the initial 12 days of the contest finishing on June 1.

The main four groups in each gathering after the prelims will progress to the quarterfinals on June 3. After the elimination rounds on June 5, the bronze-decoration and gold-award games will occur on Sunday, June 6.

Where is the 2021 Men’s World Championship?

The 2021 release will be held in Riga, Latvia, at two arenas: the Arena Riga and the Olympic Sports Center. It has been a long time since Riga facilitated the competition; Sweden won the gold there in 2006.

The current year’s competition initially was booked to be co-facilitated by Belarus (Minsk) and Latvia, yet the International Ice Hockey Federation moved it in February due to political turmoil and the COVID-19 pandemic.

What channel is the 2021 Men’s World Championship being aired on?
  • TV channel (U.S.): NHL Network
  • Live steam (Canada): FuboTV, Sling TV
  • TV channel (Canada): TSN
  • Live stream (Canada): TSN.ca

In the United States, every American game, along with select games of other countries, will be shown on NHL Network. NHL Network can be streamed on fuboTV and Sling TV. In Canada, TSN will air every game of the 2021 tournament with select games also appearing exclusively on TSN.ca or the TSN App.

Which teams are in the 2021 Men’s World Championship?

Sixteen teams, divided into two groups of eight, are participating.

Group A Group B
ROC Canada
Sweden Finland
Czech Republic United States
Switzerland Germany
Slovakia Latvia
Denmark Norway
Belarus Italy
Great Britain Kazakhstan
Why is Russia listed as ‘ROC’?

The World Anti-Doping Agency prohibited Russia from global rivalry for a very long time last December. The boycott incorporates Olympic Games and big showdowns and Russia’s banner or name can’t be utilized. Competitors, notwithstanding, are not restricted from contending yet can just do as such under an unbiased banner.

ROC represents Russian Olympic Committee, and rather than the public hymn being played, Pyotr Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1 will be played.

When is Canada vs. USA?

There will be a Battle of North America in this tournament as the two teams are in the same group. The teams will meet Sunday, May 23, at 1:15 p.m. ET.

2021 Men’s World Championship standings
Team Wins Losses OTL Points
1. ROC 5 1 0 14
2. Switzerland 4 2 0 12
3. Slovakia 4 2 0 12
4. Czech Republic 4 2 0 10
5. Sweden 3 3 1 10
6. Denmark 3 3 1 9
7. Great Britain 1 4 1 4
8. Belarus 1 4 1 4
Team Wins Losses OTL Points
1. Finland 5 0 1 15
2. USA 5 1 0 15
3. Kazakhstan 4 3 0 10
4. Germany 3 3 0 9
5. Canada 3 3 0 9
6. Latvia 2 1 3 9
7. Norway 3 4 0 8
8. Italy 0 6 0 0

Wins in regulation = 3 points
Overtime win = 2 points
Overtime loss = 1 point

Who won the 2020 Men’s World Championship?

The 2020 tournament was canceled because of COVID-19.

Finland won the 2019 edition, defeating Canada 3-1 in the gold-medal game in Slovakia. Notable names from Canada’s roster included Shea Theodore, Mark Stone, Anthony Cirelli, Darnell Nurse and Jonathan Marchessault. The final game saw the Senators’ Matt Murray and the Blackhawks’ Kevin Lankinen between the pipes. An undrafted Kaapo Kakko was on Finland’s championship team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.